The Calm Before The Storm

This morning is perfect.  Birds chirping, a soft breeze that promises to bring a bit of warm air our way, and a forecast calling for 70 and sunny later today.  I go through my morning routines in the classroom.  Turn on the lamps, spray a little air freshener, open the windows, fluff the pillows on the couch, sit down with my coffee and plan.  Mornings are a quiet time.  At least this morning is.  In a little bit I’ll sit down with my cluster and reflect on the book we’ve just read as a staff.  We’ll discuss the assessments we tried out in the last few months and plan for next year.  Yes, next year already!

Maybe it’s because I got a good night’s sleep.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been eating more vegetables and walking every day.  Maybe it’s because summer is around the corner.  Maybe it’s because most days I really do like my job.  This morning is perfect.

The Slice of Life Writing Challenge is hosted at Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Calm Before The Storm

  1. elsie says:

    Love it when a day starts out in a calm perfect way. Hope it ends the same way.

  2. Linda Baie says:

    Oh, so nice to hear about your nice morning. The weather adds to the positive outlook doesn’t it?

  3. Elizabeth G. says:

    I love starting the day calmly…going through the normal routines in preparation for the day. It sounds like. Great way to get moving…hope it continued the rest of the day.

  4. Donna Smith says:

    Good girl. Eat those vegetables! That’s probably it.
    It sounds like you have a good morning that just had to be the precursor to a lovely day.

  5. Tara says:

    Love morning like this…you feel centered and collected and at peace. I hope you made that feeling last all day, Katie!

What are your thoughts? Please share!