Reflecting On Book Clubs

A few posts back I wrote about getting my students started on a new round of book clubs.  One of the choices I made was to have groups sign up for discussions twice a week instead of having a “discussion day.”  Upon reflection I have to say this was PURE GENIUS!  I have been able to sit in on all discussions, guide groups to have deeper discussions, make more informed assessments, and feel like I’m a part of what my students are doing.  I will never go back to “discussion day” again.  Because groups are meeting twice a week they are also moving through the books more quickly, which means that they are reading more.  Fantastical.

 

This entry was posted in Reader's Workshop, Self Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts? Please share!

