Snowriffic

The Slice of Life Story Challenge is hosted at Two Writing Teachers

Chicago is battening down the hatches for a blizzard.  It’s pretty exciting.  Blizzards are pretty much our only major natural event.  Sure we a get a tornado now and then, but a blizzard, that has real potential.  No one loves the threat of a blizzard more than children.  Snow+possible canceled school=giddy hysteria.  As I was contemplating this I was reminded of a special moment from a snowy day last year.

Dismissal.  Joyful voices fill the air.  I shoot a warning glance at two students forming snowballs.  As I high five my kids and send them off to go home and play in the snow, I notice a shovel leaning against the bike rack.  B goes over and starts to mess with it.

“B, please don’t touch that shovel.  Mr. Feliciano must have left it.”

“It’s my shovel.”  I walk over to him as I see him fiddling with a bike lock attached to the handle.

“What do you mean?”

“It’s my shovel.  I needed it to get to school.”  Dumb stare from me.  He sighed and slowed his speech as if speaking to a small child.  “It snowed last night, I had to walk to school, the sidewalks weren’t shoveled.”

“So you shoveled your way to school?”  I said through a wide grin.  Of course, it made perfect sense.

Get your shovel ready B, because tomorrow is going to be a doozy.

For more slices of life visit Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snowriffic

  1. elsie says:

    What a smart, determined student! Don’t we wish all students had the zeal to shovel their way to school. Thanks for sharing on this blizzard day.

  2. Tara says:

    We need someone like B in our school!

  3. Christy says:

    I found myself pleased when it turned out the shovel was really his. How cool. That’s the way I wanted your story to go, even as I stared dumbly at B along with you.

  4. blkdrama says:

    Shoveling my way to school… what a great book title!
    Great moment!
    Bonnie

  5. tjkfirst says:

    We have plenty of weather events in Oklahoma. Today the young boy would need a front end loader to get to school. But the good news is next week he may be able to wear flip flops! What a great story!

  6. Katie says:

    @ Bonnie. Love it. That title sparks so many ideas. I actually have quite a few stories about B, which I should collect and post before I forget them. One of my favorite students! He always had a way to look at the world through a different lens.

  7. Theresa says:

    I like B’s style. Great slice!

What are your thoughts? Please share!

