Varying Genres in Strategy Instruction

I posted earlier about how I’m working to assist my students in reading a wide variety of genres during independent reading. I have also been reflecting on how I use this same variation in my reading strategy instruction. Although I pull lessons from a variety of resources, my favorites are Stephanie Harvey and Anne Goudvis’ Strategies That Work, and Stephanie Harvey’s Comprehension Toolkit.

Sometimes I use the books or texts that are suggested with the lesson and other times I incorporate my favorites or latest finds.  Right now I’m teaching Determining Importance.  These are the strategy boards in my classroom that feature supports for students and tracks of our thinking.

Determining Importance Strategy Board

Language of Determining Importance

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On my board I try to feature copies of articles, stories, book covers, or actual books that we have used during the unit.  For this unit I have used a news article from Time for Kids; a historical article about the Chicago Fire from the Toolkit Texts; The Composition, a historical fiction picture book; Insectlopedia, a poetry book; Manfish, a picture book biography; Mythology, a book of myths that connects to our current social studies unit; and Chicks and Salsa, a whimsical book that is a sure crowd pleaser and features dynamic illustrations.

I use these texts to model the strategy over the course of a month, balancing these lessons with other reader’s workshop lessons that are needed.  I also have students practice in small groups and independently with additional articles and short stories.  How are you varying the genres you use in Reader’s Workshop?  Please feel free to leave a comment below.

This entry was posted in Reader's Workshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts? Please share!

