Stop Motion Time!

My Clementine from Katie Muhtaris on Vimeo.

I recently made this stop motion video for the Slice of Life challenge and quite a few people were asking me how they might create one as well.  Let me tell you it’s pretty easy! There are several good stop motion apps but the one I’m really liking right now is called Stop Motion Studio.

Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 3.02.07 PMIt’s easiest if you have a stand for your ipad.  Like the new Justand that I just got.  If you don’t have a stand you’ll need to create something, probably using a stack of books would be easiest.   Using the Stop Motion Studio app you simply capture a series of photographs that, when strung together, create a little movie.  Stop Motion Studio is super easy to use and free.  Although if you want some bells and whistles you’ll need to pay a bit for them.

As far as the storytelling process I noticed that I did a lot of visualization in my mind so that I had a clear picture what I wanted to accomplish.  I chunked it out.  For example, I knew I’d start by pulling off the peel, so I had to think about how I wanted that to go before I started.  Once that was done I worked section by section.  You can almost see the “paragraphs” or “stanzas” in my story as I create different shapes and visuals.  This process was so fun and creative.  The app does allow for audio recording so I’d like to try something that includes words next!

 

This entry was posted in 2.0 Tools, Apps for Education, Interesting, iPad, Slice of Life, Writer's Workshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stop Motion Time!

  1. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    Wow – I missed this, so thanks for sharing it. Can’t wait to try it out! Love the slice of life theme too!

  2. elsie says:

    Too clever! I missed this too (too many slices to try to get to every day, what a problem to have!) I’m intrigues and may have to play with it.

What are your thoughts? Please share!

