Back to School!

sols_6

My stomach was in a knot as I pulled the big box of diapers out of the back of the car.  M smiled happily at me as I undid the belts of her carseat.  Today would be her first day of day care.  I thought briefly about how there would be many first days for her to come.  First days of kindergarten, then high school, then college.  This one seemed particularly hard but I knew there would be harder ones to come.

I buried my face in her neck and kissed her chubby cheeks as we walked up to the door.  The daycare owner was there to greet us and I was calmed by a little boy running up to give her a huge hug.  She took the bag and diapers from me and we entered.  I tried to slow this moment down, but as with any moment that you want to go slowly, time seems to speed up.  Soon I was handing my baby over.

“Ok, well I’m just going to go.”

As I surveyed my classroom I began to feel overwhelmed at the amount of work to do.  Bit by bit, book by book I put my teaching self back together again.  I thought of her frequently as I puttered around the room making lists.  I checked the clock counting the minutes as I wordlessly shuffled items about.  And when the bell rang at the end of the day I went skipping to my car, like a child again, so excited to be going home.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Back to School!

  1. elsie says:

    So good to see you writing again Katie! There are many firsts ahead of you and they won’t all involve leaving your sweet girl somewhere. I had to laugh as you mentally were saying goodbye to her in college. Enjoy your moments you have because they will zip by.

  2. I haven’t experienced that feeling, per se, but I remember leaving Izzy with a babysitter for the first time. Oh, was that hard! It’s just the first in a series of ways that we have to let go of our children. You jumped over this hurdle. Good for you, Katie.

    Glad to have you back, slicing with us, again.

  3. Tara says:

    “I tried to slow this moment down, but as with any moment that you want to go slowly, time seems to speed up.”
    I love this line! It is so true. There are times when I wish I could stretch a moment to last just a little bit longer!

  4. Tara says:

    Welcome back, Katie!! Your teaching self and your mommy self – it takes time to get used to this, but your little one will enrich all you do in the classroom, and she will benefit from all you learn from watching your students and getting to know their stories, too. I could just picture you skipping off to your car, too, happiness personified!

  5. Welcome back Katie…sounds like lots of love for her at Day Care! I also loved your last line and the joy you felt to see her. It was just yesterday, well I guess 30 years ago for me. My husband did the drop off and I got the joyful reunion.

  6. macrush53 says:

    I hope your year goes well for you. It will be a while before college.

What are your thoughts? Please share!

