Classroom Jobs for the 21st Century Classroom

I’ve never been good at class jobs.  I always forget to rotate them.  But the students love having jobs (most of them anyway) and truthfully it’s helpful to have them take care of the little things.  In the 21st century classroom there is potential for new and exciting jobs.  Here are a few that I’ve added to my list over the last few years.

  • Technology Team: Although I expect every student in the room to become adept at handling technology responsibly, there are times when I need a few experts to take care of something.  I train these students on how to properly clean, store, and manage a large amount of devices.  I also train them on how to sync iPads so that if we start a lesson and someone didn’t get something I don’t have to stop teaching.  The technology team is one of the most coveted jobs on the list and students take it very seriously.  Without my tech team I would never have been able to ensure that 30 iPads were properly stored, charging, and locked up every night.  Another benefit is that I don’t have to worry when I’m not around.  Students are capable enough to educate any substitute teachers, assist them with use, and monitor to ensure classroom rules are being followed.
  • Homework Blogger: For years parents asked for homework to be posted on the class website and for years I said no.  It’s not that I was opposed to it, the truth is I just don’t remember.  I already write the homework on the board every day and students are expected to copy it down in their agenda.  I’m a busy lady, I don’t like doing things twice.  But the students liked the idea.  Their reasoning was that if they were absent or forgot they would have a place to look.  Some of them also complained of parents not trusting them or believing them. (I really don’t give that much homework)  So, I said fine but YOU have to do it.  So, I put the login for the blog on one student’s iPad and then train them on how to type in the homework each day.  I check in once and awhile to ensure that they are on the “up and up,” but I’ve never had an issue.  Students and parents are happy with this small piece of communication and I’m happy because I don’t have to manage it.  When jobs switch I hand pick a new blogger and have the previous student train them.
  • Class Archivist: This is a new one that I’m going to do this year.  I’ve been toying with the idea of using a site like Shuttercal for this purpose for awhile.  Each day the archivist posts a picture that best represents the learning we did that day and writes a short caption about it.  Parents, families, and students can have a timeline of learning over the year.  Students might photograph the cover of a new read aloud, a science experiment in progress, a valuable anchor chart, or a special guest.  I’ll run it the same as I do for the blog, logging in one student at a time, and have them upload the photos using the Shuttercal app.  I haven’t decided what the privacy settings/guidelines will be yet.  For about $3 a month you can password protect the calendar so I may take that route if students want to post photos of kids working.  Otherwise we’ll keep it to inanimate representations of our learning.
This entry was posted in Classroom Management, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Classroom Jobs for the 21st Century Classroom

  1. Glenn Yetter says:

    Love the archive idea!

  2. Joy Kirr says:

    Ooh! I just started a posterous site so that I can log a picture a day – thanks for these great ideas! I also have a press pass for one student each day to take pictures. I can just add one more responsibility to that job – choosing the best of the day and posting it with a caption! We are also using a class twitter account this year, so I hope to have a tweet per day, or multiple if they want to share their blog posts… Now I have to figure out how they’ll respond to other class blogs from the myriad tweets we receive…!

    • Katie says:

      I thought of doing the class twitter account too. Kristin does it with her first grade in a series she calls “Tweets from the carpet.”

  3. Katie says:

    I should have also mentioned that I plan on doing the weekend Shuttercals with any additional photos that I think might be significant or just some inspirational quotes!

  4. Pingback: Classroom Jobs for the 21st Century Classroom | Literacy Using Web 2.0 | Scoop.it

  5. Pingback: Classroom Jobs for the 21st Century Classroom | iTeach | Scoop.it

  6. Love this, Katie. I just posted about class jobs today, & included some of what I have done for tech.

  7. Pingback: Links You’ll Love – 9-11-12 « MuseForJews

What are your thoughts? Please share!

