When Things Go Wrong: How Do You React?

I had a long day yesterday, so I decided to do something nice for myself and got to a yoga class between school and the marathon meeting that I had to attend last night.  Although I go to yoga at the studio by my house semi-often I thought I would try out the studio that is right by my school.  So, after having looked up the schedule I schlepped through the unseasonably hot weather.

Unfortunately the schedule I had looked at was wrong.  There was a class at 4:30 the girl informed me but it was not a level 1 yoga class it was a super heated yoga sculpt.   I made the decision to just try it.  When things don’t go our way sometimes we just have to go with the flow.

The minute I entered the room I knew it was going to be rough 60 minutes.  I grabbed the lightest weights I could find, laid down my mat, and breathed into the heat of the room beads of sweat already forming.  “Why oh why did I only have a salad for lunch?” I thought as I lay there.

The beginning wasn’t so hard but it quickly accelerated.  The teacher looked at me with a mix of apprehension and curiosity, as if wondering when exactly I might pass out or give up.  I did neither.  I ignored the well sculpted girls near me whose hair seemed to flow from their long pony tails perfectly as mine began to frizz to epic proportions.  I ignored the fact that I had packed the ugliest pants I own to wear that day.  The ones that showed every bump and ripple.   I ignored the teacher’s tough look and squelched my thoughts that perhaps she could give me just a little encouragement, I could encourage myself.  I drank water when I needed it and rested when I needed it.  I won’t lie and say that I didn’t seriously consider getting up and walking out a few times.  But I didn’t.  I made it to the end.  Sometimes we have to persevere!

Things don’t always go as planned.  It’s how we react to it that matters.

You can read other Slice of Life stories at Two Writing Teachers!

 

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When Things Go Wrong: How Do You React?

  1. blkdrama says:

    That’s an amazing success Katie, something I could not imagine trying.
    BRAVO!
    Bonnie

  2. Tara says:

    Alright, Katie…woo hoo!! I’ve got to hand it to you, I would have slunk out at the first opportunity. Sigh.

  3. shannonjoe says:

    LOL! I bet you didn’t look as bad in your workout pants as I did one time with my workout capris that look like pants that are too short paired with some roll down socks because I forgot my ankle socks! :)

    Shannon

    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

  4. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    Way to stick with it! You were as cool as a cucumber. (Sorry, couldn’t help myself . . .) You are so right though, it is all about how you decide to handle the situation! Good for you!

  5. So much for a relaxing yoga experience, but kudos to you for your perseverance!

  6. onesunflower says:

    Your entry focused on just the right elements to emphasize your feelings – and had me cheering for you as well as acknowledging that I probably would have turned around at the door! Good for you.

  7. I just wanted to check-in with you to see how you’re doing. I haven’t seen you over at the SOLSC (I know I make it sound like it’s a watering hole where people go after work.) for awhile and just wanted to make sure things were okay in your neck of the woods. I’m assuming you’re busy finishing up the school year. Hope you’re well!

What are your thoughts? Please share!

