Slice of Life Challenge-Happy Slicing Eve!

For the last five years Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers have hosted a yearly month-long Slice of Life challenge.  This challenge is near and dear to my heart.  It’s where I really entered the world of blogging.  Starting tomorrow I will be slicing for 31 days straight.  Every day in the month of March.

Why do I do it?

Well not because it’s easy, because it isn’t.  I do it to better myself as a writer.  I do it to be a part of a community.  Some of these slicers have been with me through thick and thin, including last year when my poor dog lost his tail.  I look forward to catching up with them and to finding new friends to slice with as well.  I do it to remember what it’s like to not have anything to write about so that I can be a more compassionate teacher.  I do it to set an example for my students.  I do it to remember my life, because slicing every day helps you capture the little moments and I relish going back and rereading my old posts years later.  I do it because it’s good for me.  I should do more things like that.  So tomorrow I slice.

I’ve created a special blog just for this challenge.  Please join me!

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slice of Life Challenge-Happy Slicing Eve!

  1. I love this. You said it right Katie! My favorite: “I do it because it’s good for me. I should do more things like that.” Let’s enjoy it! I also created a Pinterest board for favorite slices — this is going to be my first pin!

  2. Your slice is great. You have captured so many reasons why I slice. I have just started on Pinterest. I am still learning how to do it.

  3. JenniferM says:

    I love how you said that slicing helps you “capture the little moments”. I’ve only had my blog since this summer, but I can see how much fun it would be to re-read my old posts in the future! Your list of reasons was very well thought-out, and I have many of the same reasons! :-)

  4. T-Dawg says:

    I agree… that’s why I do it, too. And my writing output improves. Makes for some great thoughts…

What are your thoughts? Please share!

