Raisin Toast and Cottage Cheese

The weekly Slice of Life is held at Two Writing Teachers.  Join me!

I had raisin toast with cottage cheese for breakfast this morning.  Warm crispy raisin toast dripping with butter.  Thick creamy cottage cheese. Mmmmmmm……

Growing up we would sometimes go to a diner by our house for dinner.  Wednesday was my dad’s favorite day because they had home made split pea soup.  I went for the fruit plate.  The place was called Piper’s and it was your typical family diner owned by a Greek couple. Brown leather booths and early bird specials a smell of grease and rice pudding in the air.  It was always packed with locals and senior citizens…lots of senior citizens.  The type of place where soup came with your meal, you didn’t’ have to pay extra, and as you entered you were greeted by the tall display case filled with fresh cakes and pies.

Like I said, I always ordered the fruit plate.  Now if you’ve ever eaten at a diner like this, which I’m sure you have because they are everywhere, you know the fruit is nothing to write home about.  A few slices of pale cantaloupe partnered with the “green cantaloupe,” oranges sliced in that odd way, maybe a couple of choice strawberries, if you’re lucky sliced banana or grapes.  No, I didn’t order the fruit plate for the fruit.  I ordered it for the tasty corners of raisin toast and the glorious scoop of large curd full-fat cottage cheese at the center.  I tolerated the fruit.  I lusted after that toast and cheese.

The only low point, my waterloo, was the soggy slice of iceberg lettuce that they always served the cottage cheese on.  “What a waste!”  I would think as I tried to scrape the last yummy morsels from it.  I extracted the last of my precious cottage cheese like a surgeon.  I often wanted to ask the waitress to just not put the lettuce there.  How hard would it be to just scoop it onto the plate?  But my parents wouldn’t let me.  A life lesson perhaps?  Or maybe they just liked to watch me squirm.  Maybe they had a running bet as to when I would finally break and eat the lettuce.  I don’t know, parents were meaner back then.  It was probably a good thing.

Thinking back I now see why I get so excited when I treat myself to that tasty purple package of raisin bread.  Maybe it’s about the food.  Maybe it’s about the memory of my childhood, a place that I often visit in my dreams.  Maybe it’s about small comforts. Or maybe, just maybe, it’s that I can finally eat my cottage cheese without that damn piece of lettuce messing it up.  Maybe.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Raisin Toast and Cottage Cheese

  1. I LOVE that cottage cheese too! I’d never order the fruit salad but cottage cheese and toast- heaven.
    I already scarfed down my cereal for breakfast, but lunch, it’s cottage cheese all the way!
    Have a great day Katie,
    Bonnie

  2. Elsie says:

    Isn’t it funny the tastes that stay with us from childhood. The way you describe this makes me want to try cottage cheese and cinnamon toast, a combination I’ve never experienced. Extracting it like a surgeon created a perfect visual image for me. Now I’m hungry, time to check out the fridge.

  3. Stacey says:

    I’ve never understood the ‘lettuce as a garnish’ thing. It doesn’t make any sense to me. If you gathered up all of the garnish lettuce in the world, there’d be a lot of extra food for people who were starving. (Not that one can subsist on a diet of only lettuce, but you know what I mean.)

  4. Tara says:

    I love cottage cheese…but I’ve never paired it with raisin toast (which I love, especially sprinkled with cinnamon) – I now know aht I’m having for breakfast tomorrow!

  5. Tara says:

    of course, I meant “what I’m having” – sorry for the typo above!

  6. Linda Baie says:

    Definitely I think that parents were meaner back then! Love the line & all your post, descriptions of the fruit, right down to the lettuce under the cheese. They did do that didn’t they? And I wonder if anyone did eat the lettuce. It’s a great few minutes of a memory that touched me. I’ve been to those diners & ordered the fruit plate too, but only because I could then order pie, but that’s another whole story!

  7. Your last two lines totally cracked up out loud. And the line about parents being meaner, so funny, Katie. What a wonderful thoughtshot. :)

What are your thoughts? Please share!

