Best Practice in my Classroom…Literally

It’s been a nutty week.  Yesterday we had film crews in our classes doing some taping of various classroom teaching and learning moments.  I’m deeply honored and very excited to a part of this project.  It’s an interesting experience to be in an educational video.  For example, I know from my prior experience that things you say will haunt you for the rest of your life.

The first time I did one of these projects all I could think about was how I said “interesting” about four times.  Couldn’t I think of anything more profound to say?  Now, I could explain it by saying that it’s a word I’ve intentionally chosen to bolster student feelings about the validity of their work.  The truth is, I probably say it a lot.  Interesting is my “um.”  Hey, I am interested.  If my kids are doing interesting work then we are all interested.  So…interesting.  I’m pretty sure I said it at least twice yesterday.

I guess there are worse things in the world than being known as a teacher who was interested in what her students were doing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best Practice in my Classroom…Literally

  1. Tara says:

    Tell me more!!! What were you lot up to?

    • Katie says:

      They are putting out a new edition of Best Practice and they are filming around at different schools to have a DVD or enhanced ebook or something. We were lucky enough to be included! I’m sure it will be interesting. : )

What are your thoughts? Please share!

