Tuesday Debrief

I’ve just returned from doing some consulting work in Wisconsin.  What a great two days!  I figured since it was Tuesday still I could get my slice of life in, but how can I capture all that is on my mind?  Last week I taught my students to do a slice of life as a poem, so that’s what I’ll try today too.

The Slice of Life Story Challenge is hosted at Two Writing Teachers

All packed, ready to go

driving long roads looking for fall leaves

CLUNK!  What’s that….uh oh

Stop.

Trucks rumbling by as I kneel on the highway

Thank god for bungee cords and duct tape, on the road again

Planning, preparing, worrying

Greeting, presenting, bonding

talking, teaching, reflecting

Ah, the joy of a real lunch.

Day two

I know the roads, Have the lay of the land

A new set of teachers and students

we have more in common than we think

learning, planning, preparing

teaching, reflecting, laughing

Time to head home.

Storms roll through as we drive on

A burning fushia sunset behind us

the cool full moon contrasts a velvet blue sky in front

home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tuesday Debrief

  1. elsie says:

    You have captured these days so clearly. Sounds like it was a great time for learning. What was the clunk that duct tape and bungee cords can fix?

  2. Linda Baie says:

    Moving moving moving, just like your poem. It sounds like a very busy, but good weekend. I’m looking forward to hearing about it. I like that break in the middle, ‘ah, the joy of a real lunch’. It’s a stop in a busy and tiring day I assume.

  3. Stacey says:

    Aren’t you still in the classroom this year? And you’re consulting? When do you sleep?

  4. Kristin says:

    This is a such great reflection of our adventure! I love how you balanced the harshness of duct tape with the beauty of the sunset and moon rise. What a trip! I can’t wait to be stuck in the car with you again! Fun times!

What are your thoughts? Please share!

