15 Days

The Slice of Life Story Challenge is hosted at Two Writing Teachers

It’s Slice of Life Tuesday!  To read more Slices of Life or participate in the weekly slice of life writing community please visit Two Writing Teachers.

We’ve been in school for 15 days.  I’ve had vacations longer than that.  15 days.

15 days and already the class has settled into a comfortable hum.

15 days and the walls are full of anchor charts of our learning, student work, and photographs of happy students.

15 days and I’m already behind on my grading.

15 days and I’m wrapping up my first unit of study in writing…Slice of Life!

15 days and my students are practically advanced iPad users.

15 days and I’m already having to put my gym bag in front of the door so I’ll remember to go.

15 days and friendships have been made.

15 days and we’ve accomplished so much already!

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 15 Days

  1. Deb Day says:

    I really like the repetitiveness of 15 days…this is a great list of all you have accomplished in a short span of time. I did laugh at the line about already being behind in your grading. It’s an uphill climb, isn’t it?

  2. elsie says:

    Those 15 days have been full of powerful learning and bonding into a cohesive community. Just thinking of what has happened in these 15 days makes me wonder about how much learning and changing will occur in the remaining 150+ days to come. All I can say is WOW!

  3. Ruth says:

    I love that term…”comfortable hum.” Wow…so much GOOD accomplished in 15 days!

  4. Tara says:

    Busy, busy, busy…with many a busy day to go! Love the part about grading, because I can so relate!!

  5. Linda Baie says:

    Don’t give up the gym! I see the changes creeping in that take over, like reminders about the gym, already behind in the grading. Teachers work so hard. I wish a newspaper would publish this list showing how much is accomplished in only 15 days. Congratulations!

  6. There is a comfortable hum about your post just like your classroom.:) I like the repetition of the number 15. Pretty cool to think about just how much can be accomplished in 15 school days!

  7. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    15 days and amazing things are happening! Here’s to another 15 more, and then another, and then another . . . accomplishing more and more!

  8. Stacey says:

    You said you’ve had vacations longer than that… but what feels longer: 15 days of school or 15 days of vacation? ;)

What are your thoughts? Please share!

