Hello Morning

The Weekly Slice of Life Story Challenge is hosted at Two Writing Teachers

Hello Morning.

I missed you.

With your blazing red sky and faint toast smell.

Your sleepy eyed shuffle to the espresso machine.

Eager dog greeting me, wagging for his breakfast.

The refrigerator hums as if to say, good morning, I missed you.

I like it when you visit me, shuffle through my contents.  I’m always excited to see what you’ll choose.  p.s. the milk is getting old.

Hello Morning.

I’m happy to see you.  You’re the sign of a new day, a fresh start, an energized brain and body.

A new smile on an old face.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hello Morning

  1. Deb Day says:

    This is great! I love the line about the refrigerator humming to say good morning!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    We do see new things when up so early & you’ve captured the morning well. Standing at the refrigerator-um-m, what to choose?

  3. elsie says:

    Love the personification in this! Very creative thinking, now I have another view at my morning routines.

  4. Tam says:

    “A new smile on a new face.” Yes, the only way to face a new day, especially for teachers–well said.

  5. Stacey says:

    I liked the repetition of “Hello Morning” in the poem. It focused me back on the possibilities of the new day.

  6. You got me to thinking . . . it is quiet enough in the morning that the hum of the refrigerator can be heard. I would probably never notice it at any other time of the day. I love the morning too. I love the “faint toast smell” and “p.s. the milk is getting old.”

  7. That last line, “new smile on an old face” is one I want to hold onto for awhile. I love that concept.

  8. onesunflower says:

    Morning is definitely a sensory experience – you’ve described yours well. I’ll be noticing mine more tomorrow because of your poem.

What are your thoughts? Please share!

