Looking ahead to a fabulous school year…

Hi everyone!  I am so excited to be a part of this blog! Thanks Katie!

As a first grade teacher, I have lots to say about developing readers, writers, collaborators and thinkers.  I want my students to be curious and passionate and I try to model that for them every day.  In order to do that we must enrich ourselves professionally and personally. In Reading Essentials (2003) Reggie Routman instructs teachers, “Live an interesting life. We are not only role models for learning; we are role models for living.”  I hope to share how I merge my “living” life and my “learning” life to make instruction fun, informative, and motivating for my students and myself.  I can’t wait to learn more about the readers of this blog and be a member of your community.

About Kristin

Kristin Ziemke has spent her career teaching and learning from children in both urban and suburban school districts. A first grade teacher in Chicago, Kristin engages students in authentic learning experiences where reading, thinking, collaboration and inquiry are at the heart of the curriculum. Co-author of Connecting Comprehension and Technology, Kristin pairs best practice instruction with digital tools to transform learning in the classroom and beyond. An Apple Distinguished Educator, National Board Certified Teacher and Chicago’s 2013 Tech Innovator of the Year, Kristin seeks opportunities to transform education through technology innovation. She inspires educators around the globe as a staff developer, speaker and writer. To learn more about her work follow her on Twitter @KristinZiemke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking ahead to a fabulous school year…

  1. Looking forward to reading your posts Kristin! So, how did Katie persuade you to co-author this wonderful blog? :)

  2. Kristin says:

    Thanks Diana! Katie has been asking me for bit…we’ve been working together for a long time and have several projects going on this year so we thought now would be a good time! I’m so excited to be included!

What are your thoughts? Please share!

