Day 8: A Steady Diet of Reading

15 Days of Back To School

Keeping kids excited about reading is a major part of my job.  If they like the books they will read.  This means that I keep up a steady diet of reading during the year.  Enough that the site of me heading for the book store makes my husband shudder.

As much as I read I can’t possibly read everything that my students are reading.  Yet, I am constantly trying to bring new books into the classroom.  This is why I rely on a variety of resources to help me select new books for my classroom library.  Here are some of my favorites.

Welcome to my Tweendom: Stacey Dillon is a school librarian and always has her finger on the pulse of what tweens are reading these days.  I really love her blog because I’m often concerned that I’m giving my tweens books that they can read but that aren’t too mature.

Planet Esme:  Esme Raji Codell, author and former teacher, maintains a website and a blog that has amazing book lists.  I often visit her site when putting together book order.

Choice Literacy Newsletter:  This free newsletter has great ideas on a variety of literacy related topics and every once in awhile an article that has some fantastic text suggestions like this one.

Kids Momo: I love this fun site.  Book reviews, book trailers, and fun podcasts with great recommendations.

I hope these sites help you find some great books to add to your classroom this year!

This entry was posted in Back To School, Book Reviews, My Reading Life, Read Aloud Books, Reader's Workshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 8: A Steady Diet of Reading

  1. Michelle says:

    Some new sites for book selections! Thanks!

  2. Tara says:

    Kids Momo is new to me – it looks fantastic. Thanks, Katie – from the pictures of your room, it seems as though you are all set to begin the year. All the best…I look forward to reading your posts and keeping up with your teaching adventures!

  3. Katie says:

    I love kids momo. They got me hooked on book trailers!

What are your thoughts? Please share!

