I Wonder in Five Words

Every year we do a back to school community project.  It’s a way to help establish culture, get to know students, and begin to form the necessary community  bonds for a productive year.  In the past we’ve had students do quilt squares, book advertisements, and what’s on your nightstand posters.  I recently came across this video of student created artwork where they featured a question that they wonder about in five words.  I love how this promotes creativity and inquiry at the same time!  This might be my project for this year.

This entry was posted in Back To School, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Wonder in Five Words

  1. Tara says:

    Oh wow…I’m loving this! Thank you (once again) Katie…

  2. sallyboone says:

    I like this idea. It could be an ongoing project that students work on throughout the year…trying to answer their question. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Anne MArie says:

    What a resplendent idea- thanks so much for sharing.

  4. Pingback: Encouraging Curiosity | Inquiry Live in the Classroom

  5. TGH says:

    Fantastic! I am so impressed. I would love to know how you did this. Ipad? Did you take pictures of their individual projects and video them together? I am doing Georgia Heard’s A Place of Wonder activities this year and this nails it on the head.

    • Katie says:

      I can’t take credit for this video. I originally found it through the educators PLN. http://edupln.ning.com/video/i-wonder-in-five-words However, I think taking pictures and then putting it together with iMovie or some other program would be ideal. If I didn’t have iPads for mine this year I was thinking of having students use letters from magazines to create more variance in their work. Good luck! (Georgia Heard is awesome!)

What are your thoughts? Please share!

