Everyone Should Take The Time For A Coffee

The Slice of Life Story Challenge is hosted at Two Writing Teachers

I pour the freshly brewed espresso gently over the ice.  It crackles and resettles itself as the deep dark liquid oozes between the icy cracks.  A quick dash of sugar.  A splash of milk.  I stir it slowly with the straw.  Sit in the quiet of the afternoon.  The sun streams through the window catching bits of dust and dog hair and lighting it like glitter.

We owe it to ourselves to take the time for a coffee.  Not once in awhile.  Every day.

The Weekly Slice of Life is hosted by Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Everyone Should Take The Time For A Coffee

  1. elsie says:

    Unfortunately I HAVE to have that coffee every morning. Iced in the summer and hot in the winter. Maybe I should try it in the afternoon. Your description made the world slow down. Sounds relaxing and soothing.

  2. Ruth Ferris says:

    I love your word choice! Thank you for stopping by and reading my A to Z Writing Challenge. If you go to the Archives it begins in April.

  3. I agree. I just visited a coffee shop in my neighborhood, “Ritual.” I love the idea of a coffee named “Ritual.” I think the best coffee comes with a moment of mindfulness.

  4. Stacey says:

    Your slice makes me wonder why I stopped drinking lattes in the morning? I now drink iced tea. Maybe I need to buy the Keurig everyone’s talking about…

  5. Donna Smith says:

    Iced coffee in the morning is such a nice treat when it is this hot outside. The dust and dog hair glittering in the sunlight brings me right home!

  6. Elizabeth G. says:

    Sounds wonderful! Nothing beats an iced coffee on a hot day…although sweet tea and lemonade are nice fillers. You painted a delicious picture…yum!

  7. Linda Baie says:

    Good words – crackle, re-settle, ooze – that express such a pleasurable moment. I hope you do have that time every day.

  8. missmoyer says:

    change the setting to early morning and you’ve described my experience too!

  9. the other ruth says:

    Love this piece–my first cup in the morning has become pretty ritualistic, at least on non-work days. I can tell that you understand it’s more than just the coffee.
    I’m off to brew a cup and find my chair on the porch…

What are your thoughts? Please share!

