Wag more, bark less

Wag more bark less is a slightly famous slogan found on doggie related products. It’s also my theme for the summer. There’s a lot of barking going on in the education world right now. I’m choosing to spend my summer wagging instead of barking. Today I spent the day with my wag coach, Plato.

20110628-082654.jpg

We started our day at the park. I chatted with friends and enjoyed watching the dogs romp. Plato greeted the day with gusto and I chose to do the same. I worked for a few hours, had a nice lunch, and then it was off to the dog beach. If you want to see how to wag, head for the dog beach! Everywhere I looked dogs were doing what made them happy: digging, swimming, running, chasing, and yes some barking, but mostly wagging. Crystal blue water and slight waves almost convinced me that I was at the ocean instead of standing in frigid lake Michigan. The sun blazed and filled me with its cheerful rays. We dried off in the sun and went home for a nap.

Not every day can be like this. But if we can somehow capture these days and revisit them in times of need we might all wag a little more and bark a little less.

20110628-083535.jpg

The weekly slice of life is hosted by Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wag more, bark less

  1. elsie says:

    I love the phrase “wag more, bark less”! I will remember this when I have issues crop up. What fun to spend a day with your wag coach.

  2. Donna Smith says:

    Very true! There is no reason to spend all that energy barking when we’d all rather wag anyway! Actually imagining my first graders as puppies always made my day easier when I began to feel like barking.

  3. onesunflower says:

    Animals are great teachers and I love my summer days spent with my furry coaches, I really should spend more time being mentored by them during the school year.

  4. Linda Baie says:

    Sweet analogy to our lives. I’ve never heard it, so glad you shared. I’m going to be sure to tell students about this wagging!

  5. Christy says:

    I love your perspective. From the motto to the coach. Wag to your heart’s content!

  6. Pingback: What Did You Do Today? | Inquiry Live in the Classroom

What are your thoughts? Please share!

