A Slice of Tuesday

It’s cool, not cold.

Sunny, not raining…for a change.

I’m maintaining my inner peace today.

Although chaos abounded at school today, I was a still pool inside.   It was like a I was in a weird non emotional state of calm.  Zen like. Or just Zen. Calm.

I taught calmly.  I ate calmly.  I drove calmly.  Where does it come from?  If only I could bottle it up and save it for one of those days when I’m pulling my hair and chugging a Venti Pike Place coffee in a futile effort to regain sanity.  Calm.

And Yet.

The curtain billows softly caressed by the gentle breeze.  Afternoon sunlight turns a layer of dog hair on the wood floor into a shimmering carpet of sparkle.  A lone glass of Prosecco bubbles on the end table.  The guitar looks at me patiently and says, “why not?” Calm.

Calm.

Calm.
The weekly slice of life is hosted over at Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Slice of Tuesday

  1. Linda Baie says:

    Several people are referring to this chaos we call the end of school. It seems that you have it cowed very nicely. Happy end of school!

  2. Michelle says:

    I agree — let’s bottle it up or make some more! I need some of that calm! Thanks for the slice of calm.

  3. Diana Martin says:

    You have so much voice in your slice. Your line about chugging your coffee cracked me up. Loved your short sentences sprinkled in with longer ones. Your specific words really made your writing pop. Fun to read. :)

  4. onesunflower says:

    I have days like that, but they kind of feel funny. Usually I’m reaching for the guitar in the corner – just to twang the bejesus back into myself!

  5. elsie says:

    You put me into a calm place by reading this. Love this sentence: Afternoon sunlight turns a layer of dog hair on the wood floor into a shimmering carpet of sparkle. That’s the way to see the positive side!

  6. Tara says:

    I read this after an awful Thursday…it put me in such a tranquil frame of mind…thank you, my friend!

What are your thoughts? Please share!

