A Matter of Time

Time.  A teacher’s greatest enemy.  What we could only accomplish if we had time.  I was asked to fill in as a demonstration teacher next week for a very amazing Literacy Institute that some of my coworker cooked up.  Essentially groups of teachers come from other schools for four days.  Day one is PD and days two through four involve watching demonstration lessons with debriefs and planning time.  Teacher’s from our school both demonstrate and participate in the observation groups.  It’s a really powerful learning experience and a wonderfully affirming time when we cut the (pardon my French) Crapola and focus on good teaching.  I’m very honored to fill in for this one morning session.  However, I’m a bit perplexed as to what I will demonstrate.  Afterall, it’s only one lesson.  What do I want to leave these visitors with when they come to my room?  Decisions, decisions. 

This entry was posted in Professional Development, Reader's Workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Matter of Time

  1. Tara says:

    What a great idea! I love the fact that you’ve built in time to debrief – it’s always instructive to hear how others “take in” the lesson, I think it so enriches our teaching to have this perspective. Good luck – can’t wait to hear what you will do!

What are your thoughts? Please share!

