Doing the Work of Readers

I often find that this time of year I have to go back and revisit a lot of the structures that have been put in place.  Last week I did a lesson that expressed the importance of WHY we leave tracks of our thinking as readers.  I talked to my students about the benefit of writing down our thoughts and how we can use that to push ourselves, learn about how we think about reading, and become better readers.  When we are in school we are doing work of readers.  Ideally, students will internalize these strategies and apply them independently in their own reading.  I also talked about how when I read a book for fun I don’t really use post-its but I do talk about it with someone.  I showed them how I use writing to prepare for book clubs and how that looks different from the detailed notes I used when I am doing research for something.  It was a great lesson because my students seemed to have a renewed sense of purpose for the work they are doing in reader’s workshop.  Sometimes as teachers we spend so much time explaining what we are doing that we forget to justify why it’s important.  Hey, if we can’t say why, then maybe we shouldn’t be doing it.  Just a thought.

This entry was posted in Reader's Workshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doing the Work of Readers

  1. elsie says:

    I need to remember the why also, we get so caught up in the what and how we assume they know the why. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. the other ruth says:

    I agree that it’s easy for us to forget this part, and also that it’s a pretty important thing to do! Loved hearing about how you did this with your kids.

What are your thoughts? Please share!

