Book Find

Saavy by Ingrid Law

I just finished reading Savvy by Ingrid Law and I love, love, love it.  The only question in my mind is will I get a set for book clubs or will I read it aloud?

Savvy is listed as a Fantasy book but I would consider it more of a realistic fiction adventure book with a hearty dose of magic.  The Beaumonts are a special family.  On their 13th birthday they each receive a Saavy, a magical power.  Unfortunately the Beaumont children are not known for being able to control their Savvy so their birthdays are usually action packed.

The main character in this story is Mibs, and we enter her life just before her 13th birthday.  In true Beaumont fashion it does not disappoint and she ends up on a quest to get to her father who is in a terrible car accident just before her birthday.  I really enjoyed the unique characters and plot line in this book.  I think that it will appeal to a lot of my girls who love realistic fiction and have been reticent to get into fantasy.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Reader's Workshop and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Find

  1. Tara says:

    This sounds like one of those cross-genre books – an area that, I think, is the next YA frontier.

    • Katie says:

      You may be right. I do see more of them popping up. I’m exited to read the sequel to this one called scumble. Although I picked up Mockingbird yesterday and read almost all of it in one sitting.

What are your thoughts? Please share!

