A Sip Of Coffee

The Slice of Life Story Challenge is hosted at Two Writing Teachers

What is the first thing you when you get up in the morning?

One of the first things on my morning list, after cuddling with the dog, is to make coffee.  I used to brew an entire pot.  I would drink half and then reheat the other half the next morning.  Disgusting I know.  I’ve decided that I owe it to myself to have fresh coffee every morning, after all I work hard.  Fresh coffee is the least I can do for myself.

Over the years my coffee habits have changed.  My tastes have grown.  I evolved from heavily flavored brands, pausing briefly in Folgersville, to Starbucks.  This morning, as I write this post, I sip a fair trade french roast that’s half decaf.  (Hey it’s better for you and I’ve decided that my students should not suffer my caffeine induced mood swings.)

I like a no nonsense cup of coffee, strong in taste, piping hot.  I want in a mug that keeps it warm and has a handle large enough for me to grip with three (even four) fingers.  It should be accompanied by a good book, a good blog, or a good friend.

Coffee should be an experience.  In the morning it should set the tone for the entire day.  So I believe in relaxing with my coffee.  The rare morning where I stop at the coffee store is usually a rushed one.  I like to take my time, enjoy my coffee, and relax.  My day is filled with enough chaos so I believe in starting it with a little peace and quite.  Coffee.

For more Tuesday Slices of Life visit Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Sip Of Coffee

  1. blkdrama says:

    Coffee for me is romantic and grown up and I’m with you! I could easily write a post about my life with coffee and the pots and mugs I have loved! Hmmm… something is brewing.
    Thanks
    Bonnie

  2. the other ruth says:

    If I were to write about my own morning coffee ritual, it would not differ much from yours. I love weekend mornings and school delay mornings and vacation mornings the most, as I have the time to do it right on those days. On others…well, the routine it a bit different and involves a thermos (no teacher’s lounge brew for me!), special mug, and greetings from first graders as they spill into the room.
    Either way, it’s a must-do part of my day.

  3. Diana says:

    The 4-finger mug line really stuck with me. It is so true. Certain mugs just feel right in your hand. I’m a 2-finger mug girl myself.

  4. Mrs. V says:

    I’m not a coffee drinker because I typically get a stomach ache after, but I absolutely loved your last paragraph. You painted the picture well with your words! It’s the small things that can really make a difference.

  5. Tara says:

    That morning first cup of coffee (Benny’s Blend – Fairway stores brand) actually makes waking up at 5 a.m. something to look forward to!

  6. Christy says:

    I like your shift from your coffee habits to your declaration of the way coffee should be. Your voice sounds powerful and playful a the same time (like you are seriously not taking yourself too seriously). Fun slice!

  7. Katie says:

    Thanks for the comments guys!

  8. Theresa says:

    Your tribute to coffee drinking struck a cord with me too. The mug makes all the difference too. The feeling of hands wrapped around the mug is right up there with the fabulous coffee aroma! Your words have me thinking about adjusting my morning routine on the weekdays. Savoring that first cup would be a nice way to start the day. Love lazy weekend, vacation, and summer mornings with coffee and the newspaper. ~Theresa

  9. onesunflower says:

    Just like blk – I could write volumes on my coffee time! I get up extra early just so that I have a half hour with my favorite mug (don’t you dare use it!) and my knitting. I’m picky about my brew too and have been known to go out late at night to replenish grounds and half and half if I don’t think there’s going to be enough for my morning “joe.” Ridiculous, my husband says!

  10. Pingback: Day 1: Slicing Again | Adventure Life Travel

What are your thoughts? Please share!

