The Lower Case Letters Mystery

The Slice of Life Story Challenge is hosted at Two Writing Teachers

A few weeks ago I wrote a post about my friend B and his shovel.  Here is another slice about B.

B had been working on his story for 30 minutes.  While I was conferring with students I had noticed how hard he had been working at his computer and I went over to tell him so.  As I approached I caught site of the screen and my breath caught.  He was typing in all caps.  Almost an entire page of work, in all capital letters.

I cleared my throat.  “Um…B?  Did you notice that you were typing in all caps?”

“What?  Oh…well…this computer doesn’t have any lowercase letters.”

At the time I thought that it was just an excuse B had dreamed up, until today, when I looked at my keyboard.

B was right, there are no lowercase letters on the keyboard.  As teachers we are story collectors.  I love collecting these types of stories and it’s not so that I can tell an amusing teacher anecdote a party.  Students like B, and we all have them, are our smartest teachers.  B reflected my teaching right back to me and helped me see it in a new light.  For that I will be forever grateful.

For more Slice of Life stories visit Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Lower Case Letters Mystery

  1. Tara says:

    Funny! I like the sound of B – someone who truly marches to the tune of his own drummer…good for him!

  2. the other ruth says:

    So glad you shared this–my kids do and say the same kind of stuff. You just can’t make up stuff that’s this good!

What are your thoughts? Please share!

