The Little Things

The Slice of Life Story Challenge is hosted at Two Writing Teachers

Sometimes I wish I could take as much pleasure in the little things in life as my dog does.  Take towels for example.  On rainy or snowy days he always needs to have his paws dried.  Of course, as soon as you take out the towel he thinks it’s a game.  First, I try to dry his paws but he’s so excited at seeing the towel that he can’t sit still.  Then I try to lay the towel on the floor, but he charges it repeatedly.  This leads to a confusing dance around the room, he plays the part of the bull and I the part of the matador.  If I finally manage to get the towel down he runs for it, leaps, slides and then begins to rub his face and back all over the towel.  He dries off everything except his paws.  He sure does love that towel.  He loves it so much that when he’s done he brings all of his “stuffies” over to the towel and makes them at home until I scoop the whole mess up. I guess at the end of the day, it’s all about taking pleasure in the little things.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Little Things

  1. Tara says:

    I love your woofie…the simple things they take such delight in. My Sophie can amuse herself with anything – a stick, a milk cap, a feather set free from a pillow. So much fun to watch!

  2. elsie says:

    Don’t you wish we could all find such joy in something so simple as a towel? This made me laugh as I pictured the dance of the towel.

  3. Katie says:

    I will have to remember to video him after his next bath at home. Pure comedy.

What are your thoughts? Please share!

